Baker Awarded Presidential Honour

The International Trombone Association has announced the winners of its 2020 awards. The ITA Award which recognised the highest creative and artistic output during the past year was won by Japanese performer Kanda Magumi, the principal trombone with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra. Meanwhile, the Neill Humfeld Award for excellence in trombone teaching and ability to inspire and motivate went to Bart van Lier from the Netherlands. President's Award The prestigious President's Award was presented to Brett Baker — an honour that recognised his outstanding achievements both as a performer and as a leading advocate for the trombone throughout the musical world. It was noted that this has included the commissioning of over 100 solos and concertos and being a member of Black Dyke Band for over 20 years in addition to his commitment to the ITA organisation as a past President and secretary and as a leading educator through his work at the University of Salford. The Ken Hanlon Award was presented to Dr Karl Hinterbichler from the University of North Texas in recognition of his work as a leading low brass teacher in the USA and as assistant journal editor of the ITA magazine. The lifetime achievement award for 2020 went to James Carter, the legendary American player, songwriter and member of the rock band Chicago, whilst the 'Legacy Award' winners were Russian teacher Viktor Sumerkin and German academic Heinz Fadle.